DUI Penalties in Georgia | Georgia DUI Conviction

The Georgia DUI law which provides for the penalties which must be imposed by a court when someone is convicted of or pleads guilty to driving under the influence (DUI) in Georgia was amended effective July 1, 2008.  It is critical to recognize that, while certain penalties must be imposed by Georgia courts, upon a DUI conviction or guilty plea, the costs of a Georgia DUI go well beyond the penalties required by the law. The table  below outlines the penalties provided by the new Georgia DUI law.  Georgia’s new DUI law is significant in that it creates a 10-year look-back period.  If you have questions regarding the applicability of Georgia’s new DUI law, contact our Georgia DUI lawyers today.

The table below does not describe the impact of Georgia DUI upon your Georgia driver’s license.  Below this table is another table which outlines the impact of a Georgia DUI upon a Georgia driver’s license.  It is very important to recognize that the penalties for a Georgia DUI conviction outlined in the table below are only the penalties required by Georgia DUI law.  Below this table we have provided some of the other consequences which accompany a Georgia DUI conviction.

Georgia’s New DUI Penalties (Effective July 1, 2008)
1st DUI in 10 years Mandatory Min. Jail: 24 hrs.
Mandatory Min. Community Service: 40 hrs.
Minimum Fines: $300
Maximum Fines: $1,000
Clinical Trmt. and Eval Required: Yes, but may be waived
2nd DUI in 10 years
Mandatory Min. Jail: 72 hrs.
Mandatory Min. Community Service: 240 hrs.
Minimum Fines: $600
Maximum Fines: $1,000
Clinical Trmt. and Eval Required: Yes
3rd DUI in 10 years Mandatory Min. Jail: 15 days
Mandatory Min. Community Service: 240 hrs.
Minimum Fines: $1,000
Maximum Fines: $5,000
Clinical Trmt. and Eval. Required: Yes
4th DUI in 10 years Mandatory Min. Jail: 15 days
Mandatory Min. Community Service: 480 hrs. but may be waived if sentenced to 3 yrs. or more of actual jail
Minimum Fines: $1,000
Maximum Fines: $5,000
Clinical Trmt. and Eval. Required: Yes

Your Georgia driver’s license is controlled by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (or “DDS”), which was formerly known as the Department of Motor Vehicles (or “DMV”). If you received a DUI in Georgia and you either (1) are charged with violating Georgia’s DUI “Per Se” law or (2) are charged with refusing the state-administered test, the Georgia DDS will seek to suspend (1) your “privilege” to drive in Georgia or, (2) if you have a Georgia driver’s license, your Georgia driver’s license. If you are charged with DUI and you fall into either of these categories, you must contact an experienced and skilled Georgia DUI lawyer to act quickly to save your privilege to drive to in Georgia or your Georgia driver’s license.

A Georgia DUI conviction will remain on your record (your criminal history) for the rest of your life.  Well after the the DUI is no longer factored into to the mandatory penalties required by Georgia DUI law , the conviction will still be on your record.  Unlike many other states, Georgia law does not permit the expungement of a Georgia DUI conviction.

Every person charged with DUI in Georgia faces the possibility of at least 12 months in jail.  At its minimum, a Georgia DUI is a misdemeanor criminal offense.  Every misdemeanor in Georgia is punishable by up to 12 months in jail.  Certain Georgia DUIcharges are felonies punishable by up to 5 years in jail.  Be wary of lawyers that guarantee you a certain result when in exchange for a guilty plea to DUI without conducting any investigation into the evidence in your case.  Often times clients retain us after their plea lawyer could not obtain the expected results.  A Georgia DUI lawyerthat plans to and regularly fights Georgia DUI charges will most often better results than a lawyer that is retained with the goal of entering a plea.  Our Georgia DUI lawyerstake every case with an eye towards defending the case and ultimately obtaining an acquittal on the Georgia DUI charge.

If you face a DUI in Georgia , you need a Georgia DUI lawyer that you can count on to give you reliable information regarding your driver’s license and the impact a DUI or administrative suspension may have upon your license.

We act to preserve your privilege to drive in Georgia and your Georgia driver’s license until a hearing can be held upon the Department of Driver Services’ petition to suspend your license. At the hearing we will defend you against the suspension action and work to help you retain your driver’s license.

Contact our office today to discuss your DUI case with a trained and skilled Georgia DUI lawyer . We want to fight your case and help you avoid a DUI offense.

If you have a Georgia driver’s license and you face a DUI (or equivalent charge) outside of Georgia, you should be aware that your Georgia driver’s license will, in all likelihood be affected. The DDS is a member of the Non-Resident Violators Compact, but it is not a member of the Driver’s License Compact. As a general rule, Georgia’s DDS usually do not receive out-of-state administrative suspensions, but if any out-of-state administrative suspension is received by DDS, the out-of state administrative suspension would be recognized by the Georgia DDS.